Kubo and the Two Strings

Over the summer, I watched Laika’s new film, Kubo and the Two Strings. I’ve been a big fan of Laika ever since Coraline (2009), and they’ve never failed to impress me with their films. Laika is unique in that they’re the only major US studio that solely makes stop-motion animation films.

I had high expectations for Kubo, and I was not disappointed. The film was amazing; the plot was solid, the stop-motion smooth, and the look of the film often breathtakingly beautiful. Here’s a glimpse at the colors and settings of the film from some early concept art.

Also, here’s a video about the ever impressive making of such a large-scale stop-motion film. I highly recommend anyone who’s interested see Kubo in theaters!

Leave a Reply

