The Aesthetic Evaluation of Street Art

The reading assigned last week, Graphic Design Theory by Davis stated that messages have organizational and material differences that are culturally determined. Last year, I did an in-depth study on the aesthetic evaluation of street art and I aligned Davis’ points with what I explored in my research . I studied the psychological aspects of looking at art. I explored three factors that affected a person’s interpretation of art: aesthetic components of the piece, personal traits of the viewer, and the context.

In my research, I noted that for street art, and other forms of modern art that emerged in the 1960s, the non-aesthetic components became particular important. In street art, context plays a very important role. The site-specificness greatly affects how the works are received. Street artists can connect with viewers when they take into account personalities of those in certain areas. They have the power to make people feel like they are a part of the community in which they divide.

In my editorial called “Why Do People Hate Street Art?” I explain why some do no react street art positively, and further explain the factors that affect peoples’ evaluation of Street Art. The link to the publication: https://www.theodysseyonline.com/street-art-hate

Also check out my street art at http://www.jenntranart.org/streetart

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

