What art era are we in now?

This question came to me when I was looking over some of my old art from high school. There were movements of Impressionism, Cubism, Surrealism, etc., but what is the “movement” or style today? When I did research to find out the answer, I found that there were so many different opinions. “Post Modernism” is a word that is used a lot, but everyone seemed to have a different opinion on what that meant, or just a completely different idea. Some people mentioned deconstructionism. One person said that art today is heavily influenced by technology. Another summarized the movement as “street art and  3d printing. A few said it is impossible to describe the era we are in.

In the end, I had no conclusion to my question. But maybe that’s good, maybe it will make me more aware of the different styles of the art I today and come up with my own opinion.

Leave a Reply

